Painting of self in bathrobe 001

Watercolor on 140# Arches CP
Size: Image H. 14″ x W. 12″,

2002

This is (or was) pretty much me. I really do look like this forst thing in the morning. This is my pose. It’s the way I sit. I favor this as a self-portrait because, more than just capturing a likeness (relatively easy to do) this one declares my personality.

It really was Saturday morning, we were living in Minnesota at the time and so I said to Jeanne to go get my camera and take a pic or two and this was it, a moment in time. Isn’t this one of the advantages of being an artist? We get to record our life journey in ways that a photographer does not. We get to interact with the image in a deep personal way that no one could understand except the artist himself.

In the collection of
Dr. Chuck and Bev Frankish
Kanata, Ontario

